Our Committees

The Board of Directors, comprised of leading asthma experts, is GINA’s main governing body. It encourages dissemination and adoption of the reports on asthma management through utilization of existing health care structures in individual countries and promotes international collaboration on asthma research.

The Science Committee evaluates new scientific evidence about asthma care, and prepares updates to scientific reports on asthma management and prevention.

The GINA Assembly includes individuals from around the world with an interest in promoting the goals of GINA. The group meets periodically to share information about programs of health education, asthma management, and prevention, and helps disseminate the GINA management program.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors, comprised of leading asthma experts, is GINA’s main governing body. It encourages dissemination and adoption of the reports on asthma management through utilization of existing health care structures in individual countries and promotes international collaboration on asthma research.

The GINA Board of Directors meets several times a year to discuss and plan programs and activities to carry out the goals of the GINA program.
Download GINA Board of Directors Meeting Minutes, September 2015 (PDF).
Download GINA Board of Directors Meeting Minutes, May 2015 (PDF).

Soren Erik Pedersen, MD, Chair
Department of Pediatrics
Kolding Hospital, Shovvangen 2 8
DK 6000, Kolding, Denmark

Mark Fitzgerald, MD
Vancouver General Hospital
2775 Laurel Street, 7th Floor
Vancouver, BC V5Z 1M9 Canada

Eric D. Bateman, MD
University Cape Town Lung Institute
George Street
Mowbray, 7700
Cape Town, South Africa

Louis-Philippe Boulet MD
Laval University and Quebec Heart and Lung Institute
2725 Chemin Sainte-Foy
Sainte-Foy (Quebec) G1V 4G5 Canada

Alvaro A. Cruz, MD
Federal University of Bahia
School of Medicine
Av. Sta. Luzia, 379 ap. 1501 – OB
40295-050 Salvador – BA, Brazil

Mark L. Levy, MD
Kenton Bridge Medical Centre
London

Helen K. Reddel, MBBS, PhD
Woolcock Institute of Medical Research
PO Box M77 Missenden Road
Camperdown, NSW 2050, Australia

Hiromasa Inoue, MD
Department of Pulmonary Medicine Kagoshima University
Kagoshima 890-8520, Japan

Jiangtao Lin, MD
Department of Respiratory Diseases
China-Japan Friendship Hospital
Peking University
Beijing 100029 China

Arzu Yorgancioglu, MD
Celal Bayar University
Department of Pulmonology
Manisa, Turkey

 

Page last updated: March, 2016

Science Committee

The Science Committee evaluates new scientific evidence about asthma care, and prepares updates to scientific reports on asthma management and prevention.

 

Helen K. Reddel, MBBS, PhD, Chair
Woolcock Institute of Medical Research
PO Box M77 Missenden Road
Camperdown, NSW 2050, Australia

Eric D. Bateman, MD
University Cape Town Lung Institute
George Street, Mowbray, 7700
Cape Town, South Africa

Allan Becker, MD
Department of Immunology
University of Manitoba
John Buhler Research Centre
715 McDermot Avenue
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3E3P5 Canada

Johan C. de Jongste MD, PhD
Pediatric Respiratory Medicine
Erasmus University Medical Center – Sophia Children’s Hospital,
PO Box 2060
3000 CB Rotterdam The Netherlands

Mark FitzGerald, MD
UBC Respiratory Medicine
Vancouver General Hospital
2775 Laurel Street, 7th Floor
Vancouver, BC V5Z 1M9 CANADA

Hiromasa Inoue MD
Department of Pulmonary Medicine
Graduate School of Medical and Dental Sciences Kagoshima University
8-35-1 Sakuragaoka
Kagoshima 890-8520, Japan

Jerry A. Krishnan, MD, PhD
Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care, Sleep, and Allergy
University of Illinois Hospital and Health Sciences System
Chicago, Illinois 60612

Soren Erik Pedersen, MD
Department of Pediatrics
Kolding Hospital, Shovvangen 2‑8
DK‑6000, Kolding Denmark

Dr. Fanny Wai-san Ko
Dept of Medicine and Therapeutics, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Shatin, N.T., Hong Kong, ROC

Dr. Len Bacharier
St. Louis Children’s Hospital Division of Allergy & Pulmonary Medicine
One Children’s Place
St. Louis, MO

Dr. Roland Buhl
III. Medizinische Klinik Universitätsklinik
Mainz D-55101 Mainz, Germany

GINA Assembly

The GINA Assembly includes individuals from around the world with an interest in promoting the goals of GINA. The group meets periodically to share information about programs of health education, asthma management, and prevention, and helps disseminate the GINA management program.

The GINA Assembly meets twice a year to share information about asthma management, education, and prevention, and strategies for disseminating the GINA management program.

Download GINA Assembly Meeting Minutes, September 2015.
Download GINA Assembly Meeting Minutes, May 2015.

Below is a list of the members of the GINA Assembly as of May 2013.

ARGENTINA
Carlos Baena Cagnani, MD
Professor of Pediatrics
Catholic University of Córdoba
Cordoba, Argentina
cebaenac@arnet.com.ar

Hugo E. Neffen, MD
Clinica Alergia E Immunologie
Santa Fe, Argentina
hugoneffen@arnet.com.ar

AUSTRALIA
Dr. Ron Tomlins
University of Sydney
Sydney, NSW, Australia
rtomlins@ozemail.com.au

Dr. Smita Shah
University of Sydney
Westmead Hospital
Smita_Shah@wsahs.nsw.gov.au

BANGLADESH
Prof. Mostafizur Rahman, MD
National Institute of Diseases of the Chest and Hospital (NIDCH)
Dhaka, Bangladesh
prof.m.rahman@gmail.com

Dr. Kazi S. Bennoor
National Institute of Diseases of Chest & Hospital
Dhaka, Bangladesh
bennoor@gmail.com

BELGIUM
Dr. Renaud Louis
Professor of Respiratory Medicine
CHU Sart-Tilman LIege LIege, Belgium
R.Louis@chu.ulg.ac.be

Guy Joos, MD
Department of Respiratory Diseases
Ghent University Hospital Ghent, Belgium
guy.joos@ugent.be

BRAZIL
Alvaro A. Cruz, MD
Federal University of Bahia
School of Medicine
Salvador – BA, BRAZIL
acruz@ufba.br

Rafael Stelmach, MD
São Paulo, Brazil
rafael.stelmach@incor.usp.br

BULGARIA
Todor A. Popov, MD
Medical University Sofia
Sofia, Bulgaria
tedpop@rtb-mu.com
tapop@hotmail.com

Professor Vladimir Hodzhev
vhodzhev@pulmonology-plovdiv.info

Professor Daniela Petrova
ssn@multicom.bg

CAMBODIA
Kim Ang, MD
National Pedatric Hospital #100
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
charonay@yahoo.com

CANADA
Wan-Cheng Tan, MD
iCAPTURE Centre for Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Research
Vancouver, BC, Canada
wtan@mrl.ubc.ca

CARIBBEAN
Lexley M. Pinto Pereira, MBBS, MD
University of the West Indies
Trinidad, West Indies
lexleyp@gmail.com

CHILE
Javiera Corbalan, MD
Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile
javierac@vtr.net

CHINA
Chunxue Bai, MD, PhD
Zhongshan Hospital, Fudan University
Shanghai, China
cxbai@zshospital.com

Yu-Zi Chen, MD
Children’s Hospital of the Capital
Beijing, China
chenyuzhi@gmail.com

Jiangtao Lin, MD
Department of Respiratory Diseases
China-Japan Friendship Hospital
Peking University
Beijing, China
jiangtao_l@263.net

Nan San Zhong, MD
First Affiliated Hospital
Guanghzou, China
nanshan@vip.163.com

COSTA RICA
Manuel Soto-Quiroz, MD
Hospital Nacional de Niños
University of Costa Rica
San José, Costa Rica
msotoqui34@yahoo.com

CZECH REPUBLIC
Vaclav Spicak, MD
Director, Czech Initiative for Asthma
Prague, Czech Republic
vspicak@email.cz

Frantisek Salajka, MD
Fakultni nemocnice Hradec Kralove
Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic
salajka@fnhk.cz

Petr Pohunek, MD
University Hospital Motol
Czech Republic
Petr.Pohunek@lfmotol.cuni.cz

DENMARK
Ronald Dahl, MD
University Hospital of Aarhus
Aarhus, Denmark
ronadahl@rm.dk

EGYPT
Hisham Tarraf, MD Professor of Medicine & Allergy, Cairo University
Treasurer, Egyptian Society of Allergy & Immunology
Cairo, Egypt
tarraf_hisham@hotmail.com

Dr. Mona El-Falaki
Professor and Head
Pediatric Allergy and Pulmonology
Cairo University
Cairo, Egypt
monafalaki@hotmail.com

FINLAND
Tari Haahtela, MD
Skin and Allergy Hospital
Helsinki University Central Hospital
Helsinki, Finland
tari.haahtela@hus.fi

GEORGIA (Republic of)
Professor Amiran Gamkrelidze
Tbilisi, Georgia
amirang@nilc.org.ge

GERMANY
Christian Virchow, MD
Klinik und Poliklinik für Innere Medizin Universitaetsklinikum Rostock
Rostock, Germany
j.c.virchow@med.uni-rostock.de

GHANA
Essel Rockson
Asthmatic SOS Foundation (ASSOSF)
Ghana
essbenel@yahoo.com

GREECE
Mina Gaga, MD
Athens University
Athens, Greece
minagaga@yahoo.com

Eva Mantzouranis, MD
University Hospital
Heraklion, Crete, Greece
mantzourani@med.uoc.gr

HONDURAS
Dr. Carlos Aguilar
Hospital Honduras Medical Center
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
carlosaguilar27@hotmail.com

HONG KONG (China)
G.W. Wong, MD
Chinese University of Hong Kong
Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, China
wingkinwong@cuhk.edu.hk

INDIA
Rohini V. Chowgule, MD
Lung Care Clinic
Mumbai, India
drrohinichowgule@gmail.com

Dr. R. Narasimhan, MD
Dept Respiratory Medicine, SRMI
Chairman, Respiratory Research Foundation of India
Chennai, India
drrnarasimhan@gmail.com

Raj B. Singh, MD
Apollo Hospital
Chennai, India
rajbsingh@hotmail.com

INDONESIA
Faisal Yunus PhD FCCP
Faculty of Medicine
University of Indonesia
President, Indonesian Society of Respirology
Faisal.Yunus@ui.ac.id

IRAN
Prof. Mohammad Ashkan Moslehi
Shiraz University of Medical Sciences
Shiraz, Iran
ashkanmoslehi@gmail.com

Leyla Sedighipour, MD
lsedighy@yahoo.com

IRELAND
Dr. Patrick Manning
St. James’ Hospital
Dublin, Ireland
pjmanning@eircom.net

ISRAEL
Amnon Ariel, MD, MHA, FACCP
Israel Society of Pulmonology
ariel_ap@clalit.org.il
ariel-a@actcom.net.il

Meir Raz, MD
Rishon Lezion, Israel
raz_meir@mac.org.il

ITALY
Pierluigi Paggiaro, MD
University of Pisa
Pisa, Italy
lpaggiaro@dcap.med.unipi.it

JAPAN
Motohiro Ebisawa, MD, PhD
Sagamihara National Hospital
Clinical Research Center for Allergology
Sagamihara, Kanagawa, Japan
m-ebisawa@sagamihara-hosp.gr.jp

Dr. Michiko Haida
Hanzomon Hospital
Tokyo, Japan
m-haida@hanzomon.com

Ken Ohta, MD, PhD
Keikyo University School of Medicine
Tokyo, Japan
kenohta@med.teikyo-u.ac.jp

KOREA (Republic of)
You-Young Kim, MD, PhD
Seoul National University
College of Medicine
Seoul, Korea
youyoung@plaza.snu.ac.kr

K.S. Jung, MD, PhD
Hallym University College of Medicine
Hallym University Sacred Heart Hospital
Anyang Gyunggi, Korea
pulmoiks@hallym.ac.kr

KOSOVO
Dr. Luljeta Neziri-Ahmetaj
University of Prishtina
luljetaahmetaj@gmail.com
luljetaahmetaj@hotmail.com

LEBANON
Dr. Aziz Koleilat
Makassed Hospital
Beirut, Lebanon
drkoleilat@hotmail.com

LITHUANIA
Arūnas Valiulis, MD, PhD
Vilnius City University Hospital
Vilnius, Lithuania
arval@vmul.lt

MALAYSIA
Jeyaindran Sinnadurai, MD
Hospital Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
ddjeya@yahoo.com

MEXICO
Dr. Carlos Adrian Jiménez
San Luis Potosí, México
drcarlos_a_jimenez@prodigy.net.mx

David Sandoval, MD
Ensenada, Baja California, México
dr_davidsan@yahoo.com

MONGOLIA
Lkhagvaa Battur, MD, PhD
Health Sciences University of Mongolia
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
battur23@yahoo.com

Dashtsered Ichinnorov, MD, PhD
President, Mongolian Respiratory Society
Assistant Professor, Department of Pulmonology
Health Sciences University of Mongolia
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
dashtceren@yahoo.com

Dr. Oyunchimeg
Chair of International Cooperation MRS
Health Sciences University of Mongolia
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
oyunah@yahoo.com

MOROCCO
Abdallah El Meziane, MD
SMMR
Casablanca, Morocco
elmeziane01@yahoo.fr

THE NETHERLANDS
Klaus F. Rabe MD, PhD
Leiden University Medical Center
Leiden, The Netherlands
K.F.Rabe@lumc.nl

NEW ZEALAND
Professor Richard Beasley
Medical Research Institute New Zealand
Wellington, New Zealand
richard.beasley@mrinz.ac.nz

NICARAGUA
Dr. Jorge Cuadra
Department of Physiology and Internal Medicine
Nicaragua
jacuadra@ibw.com.ni

NORWAY
Dr. Frode Gallefoss
Vest-Agder Central Hospital
Kristiansand, Norway
frode.gallefoss@sshf.no

PAKISTAN
Javaid A. Khan, MD
The Aga Khan University Hospital
Karachi, Pakistan
javaid.khan@aku.edu

Dr. Mohammad Osman Yusuf
The Allergy & Asthma Clinics
Islamabad, Pakistan
osman_allergy@yahoo.com

POLAND
Ewa Nizankowska-Mogilnicka, MD
University School of Medicine
Krakow, Poland
ewa.nizankowska@mp.pl

PORTUGAL
Professor Bugalho de Almeida
National Asthma Program Leader
Bugalho.Almeida@hsm.min-saude.pt

Jose Rosado Pinto, MD
rosadopinto@mail.telepac.pt

ROMANIA
Mihaltan Florin, MD
Romanian Respiratory Society
Institute of Pneumology
Bucharest, Romania
mihaltan@starnets.ro

Ruxandra Ulmeanu, MD
Vice-general Secretary
Romanian Pneumology Society
National Institute of Pneumology”M.Nasta”
Bucharest, Romania
r_ulmeanu@yahoo.com

Mihaela Oros, MD
mihaelaoros70@yahoo.com

RUSSIA
Alexander Chuchalin, MD
Pulmonology Ressearch Institute
Moscow, Russia
chuchalin@inbox.ru

RWANDA
Jean Sauveur Uwitonze
Rwanda Initiative for Asthma
National University of Rwanda
rina_coordinator@yahoo.ca
rinasthma@gmail.com

SAUDI ARABIA
Mohammed Al Ghobain, MD
King Abdulaziz Medical City
National Guard Health Affairs
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
alanezi@hotmail.com

SCOTLAND
Dr. Rekha Chaudhuri
Senior Clinical Lecturer
University of Glasgow
rekhachaudhuri@yahoo.com

SINGAPORE
T.K. Lim, MD
Respiratory & Critical  Care Medicine
National University Hospital, Singapore
tow_keang_lim@nuhs.edu.sg

SLOVAK REPUBLIC
Ladislav Chovan, MD, PhD
Slovak Pneumological and Phthisiological Society
Bratislava, Slovak Republic
chovan@nextra.sk

SOUTH AFRICA
Professor Gillian Ainslie
Groote Schuur Hospital, Cape Town
and
UCT Lung Institute, Groote Schuur
South Africa
Gillian.Ainslie@uct.ac.za

Heather Zar, MD
Cape Town, South Africa
Hzars@ICH.uct.ac.za

SPAIN
Dr. Vicente Plaza
Hospital de Sant Pau
Barcelona, Spain
vplaza@santpau.es

Joaquín Sastre, MD
Universidad Autonoma de Madrid
Madrid, Spain
jsastre@fjd.es

SWITZERLAND
Jorg Daniel Leuppi, MD
University Hospital
Basel, Switzerland
jleuppi@uhbs.ch

SYRIA
Dr. Yousser Mohammad
Tishreen University School of Medicine
Lattakia, Syria
mohamyou@scs-net.org

THAILAND
Suchai Charoenratanakul, MD
Siriraj Hospital
Bangkok, Thailand
siscr@mucc.mahidol.ac.th

TUNISIA
Ali Ben Kheder, MD
Abderrahmane Mami Hospital
Ariana, Tunisia
ali.benkhder@rns.tn

TURKEY
Professor Haluk Turktas
Gazi University
Ankara, Turkey
haluktur@superonline.com

UNITED ARAB EMIRATES
Dr. Mohammad Osman Yusuf
Belhoul European Hospital
Dubai, UAE
osman@asthmauae.com

UNITED KINGDOM
Dr. Mark Levy
Kenton Bridge Medical Centre
Kenton, United Kingdom
marklevy@animalswild.co.uk

URUGUAY
Gustavo J. Rodrigo, MD
ALAT Representative
gurodrig@adinet.com.uy

VIETNAM
Professor Nguygen Nang An
Bachmai Un. Hospital
Hanoi, Vietnam
nguyenan3531@yahoo.com

Le Thi Tuyet Lan, MD, PhD
University of Pharmacy and Medicine
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
tuyetlanyds@gmail.com